Notify
Tools

Who else is like me?
 Login/Join

Pilgrim
Picture of 1720Todd
posted Hide Post
Really good stuff all.
My wife say's I was born in the wrong century all the time.
I'm trying to work on a period outfit. There has always been a fascination, and want, to work around my house and hunt in period attire. I own a lot of woods and spend a good portion of time in there. Been doing it all my life, not gonna stop now. When I was young I made my own moccasins from a deer hide and a pair of britches from old wool pants. I added a plain felt hat and a shirt I had gotten from my dad. With that and my trusty percussion rifle I built a lean-to near our farms stream and spent almost an entire summer camping there.
The history bug hit me hard early on in life.
I have been using the same flintlock to hunt with for over 20 years. I just can't get enough.

Posts: 88 | Location: Delaware | Registered: 07 January 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Hivernant
Picture of Fincastle
posted Hide Post
When I was 11 or 12 we lived near a golf course that had several nice white pine groves. One of them was near a lake. In the winter I would throw on my longies, my skins and my capote, grab my fire kit, a candle lantern, and some jerky my Grandad & I had made, and I would sneak onto the golf course and sit in the grove by the lake, start a small fire, and listen to the wind whistle through the pines, fantasizing I was out in the big woods somewhere.

A nod's as good as a blink to a blind horse

Posts: 143 | Location: Indiana Territory | Registered: 22 September 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Factor
posted Hide Post
BCR,we have a lot in common,we also are trying to build a garden from raised beds,the soil in our part of Oregon not being fit for much besides growing rocks....I do wish I'd discovered Buckskinning earlier tho there wasn't much 'skinning going on where we come from.

Beer is proof that God loves us,and wants us to be happy-B. Franklin