New
Find
Notify
Tools

BEDDING
 Login/Join

Greenhorn
posted
Hi guys. I have a ??? First off im new to these rifles.Do we bed these rifles yes no ??.With all the takeing barrals out of the stocks to clean. Does it change the way the rifle shoots?Am I over thinking this?

Posts: 34 | Registered: 24 January 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Booshway
Picture of Walkingeagle
posted Hide Post
I have never seen a bedded muzzleloader, however I have not handled the number of rifles some on here have, but do not think it necessary at all. Only guns with hook breach is the barrel removed for any real reason like cleaning, pinned barrels will eventually wear the pin holes with constant removal. Accuracy is not an issue as shooting is usually well within 100 yards (at least in my case) regarding the removal and re-installation of the hooked breach barrels.
Walk

Posts: 342 | Location: Alberta, Canada | Registered: 15 January 2005Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Hivernant
Picture of Archie
posted Hide Post
I bedded the tang and breech plug of my renegade but only because I had removed a bit too much wood in that area. When I have bedded bolt action rifles it was the action only and free floated the barrel. Since the ML's barrels are pinned or wedge keyed to the stock I'm not sure it would accomplish much.

Posts: 100 | Location: Minn | Registered: 13 December 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Booshway
posted Hide Post
I like to put a touch of bedding compound at the breech to ensure a perfet fit and to seal the end grain in this area. If you look at old guns many are both oil stained and/or cracked in this area.

Posts: 332 | Location: South Coast (MS) | Registered: 16 September 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Pilgrim
posted Hide Post
All the serious shooters in my muzzle loading club have glass bedded their barrels and they never remove the barrel from the stock to clean it.

Remove the lock and triggers but never the barrel.