New
Find
Notify
Tools

Twist rate for a 29 cal ???
 Login/Join

Greenhorn
posted
Guys, I'm new to the muzzleloaders... I need some info on what would be the best twist rate for a 29 cal.? How critical is the depth of the riflings ??? Does the length of the barrel change anything ???

I was born 100 years to late

If it aint broke fix it till it is...

verizon cell 937-205-4486

Posts: 12 | Location: Hillsboro, Ohio | Registered: 01 February 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Factor
posted Hide Post
Many .32 cals are 1x48. Might be something like that. Welcome to the fire, and I get a chuckle out of fixing it til you break it. Congratulations on the trap shoot championship. I couldn't hit a flying horse . . .

Fiddlesticks

As long as there's Limb Bacon a man'll eat! (But mebbe not his wife...)

Posts: 4816 | Location: Buffalo River Country | Registered: 23 October 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Greenhorn
posted Hide Post
Fiddlesticks, I think I will get a 1:66 twist I think the slower rate is for the ball and the fast rate is for the conical bullet.. I'm not sure but that is the way I have been told... The 1:48 seems to be in the middle so you can shoot both ways ??? someone correct me if I'm wrong... As for the trap shoot that was a blast... I'm a 26.5 yard shooter... There were 3738 people in that shoot that day and a hilljack won it all... Big Grin Big Grin Big Grin

Posts: 12 | Location: Hillsboro, Ohio | Registered: 01 February 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Greenhorn
posted Hide Post
SCLoyalist, Yes I have found a couple custom barrel makers that are going make me a barrel... I'm going to try a 32 cal. with a 1:66 twist also...

Factor
posted Hide Post
Good luck with your project. The British determined that to stabilize a large ball, at least 1/4 turn was needed before the ball exited the bore. Now it appears they sacrificed a bit of the optimal accuracy for fast loading on the battlefield.