Find
Notify
Tools

The resident wildlife
 Login/Join

Pilgrim
Picture of 1720Todd
posted
I went out again today to check on the backside of my property. And again I saw some deer, up close. I am an amateur photographer so I usually take a camera everywhere.

This little button buck watched me, browsed, scratched and hung around until I walked back. Never really got more than 20 yards away and didn't run. Just so happens it was in the area where I set up to hunt. Obviously it is way too young, so I would just watch it.

Our antlerless season starts Friday and will be the first time the flintlock goes hunting this year. Hopefully this young buck will not be around, but a larger doe will. And hopefully my trusty firelock will help me fill the pot again.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: 1720Todd,

Posts: 88 | Location: Delaware | Registered: 07 January 2013Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Booshway
posted Hide Post
Good deal. I was out this morning also I have two does in the area one has a set of twins with her and the other just has a fawn so shooting a doe won't be an option early this year.....Smiler

The best thing about owning a dog is that someone is happy when you get home.

Posts: 959 | Location: Alabama | Registered: 09 December 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Booshway
posted Hide Post
I was told the animals will feel your intensity.If your just walking,no threat,but if you start to walk and act like a predator (hunting) the feel it and react.Like your dogs,walk out to visit, one reaction,walk out with your rifle and hunting frock on and they react totally different.
Looking forward to "woods walking" my rifle this year,Coyotes moved in several years ago and the animals have taken a real hit.

Posts: 1839 | Registered: 11 February 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Pilgrim
Picture of 1720Todd
posted Hide Post
Funny you say that.
I was wearing shorts and a t-shirt and carrying my camera. I even made a phone video of him.