New
Find
Notify
Tools

DISASTER and CORN
 Login/Join

Factor
posted
So right now we are in the midst of a partial panic and a disease situation.

Kinda similar to past pandemics, though the communications in the 18th century didn't allow for the identification of them as such, back then. Comparing old records we see them as such today.

Measles, influenza, typhoid, cholera, and in previous centuries bouts of bubonic plague hit populations...and the denser the people (in numbers not intellect) the more widespread the malady. Folks in cities died most often.

So right now the U.S. mortality rate is 1.4% in the current crisis. My family and I, because of the State's "abundance of caution" are pretty much holed-up at home.

I have to go to work on weekdays (on when called out) instead of working from home, because I'm a cop. Oh well, somebody has to keep the peace, and when I was in the Marine Corps I was in Recon Battalion. In Recon you had to take care of yourself and those around you, because you operated beyond just about any other form of help. I got used to that. So I became a cop...,

So today I'm taking my previously purchased (before COVID) 25 pound bag of organic, dried, dent corn, and I'm parching it. Three cups of dried corn gets placed into my steel, flat bottomed wok, and with a wooden spatula I toss the dried corn on medium heat (setting 4 on my electric kitchen stove), until all the kernels show a little bit of browning. The idea is to ensure, especially since it's "organic" that I kill off any insect eggs, and thus don't get weevils coming forth. (Happened to me in the past) I pour off the three cups of now parched corn into my large brewing pot, to cool, and continue the process. The corn doesn't "pop" due to it being so dry.

Once finally cooled, late tonight, I will seal the corn in gallon sized ziplock bags, and put these on a shelf in a sealed, plastic bin. It's now Parched Corn as in the 18th century, and will last a long time.