Find
Notify
Tools

Hello From Austin, TX
 Login/Join

Greenhorn
posted
Hello,

I thought I should take a moment to introduce myself. Although new here, I have been shooting muzzleloaders for 30 years. It all began back in 1984 when I helped a friend in college move a lot of heavy equipment over a weekend. He paid me by giving me an old, beat up H&A underhammer and a bullet mold. The stock was cracked, the nipple threads worn out, and the barrel was rough. So, I glued the stock back together, put in an oversized nipple, and lived with the rough barrel. It wasn’t pretty, but I could keep it on paper. It was an ideal rifle for a dirt poor college student. Powder and caps were cheap, I got my lead for free, and there was a free shooting range in the local state park.

Over the years, the gun became unusable, but I could never bring myself to throw it away since the friend who gave it to me passed away. I finally took the time to restore it, putting on a new barrel and carving a new stock out of a plank of cherry wood that I had. It now shoots like a dream and I am glad that I can use it again.

After that underhammer became unusable and before restoring it, I scrounged around for a used muzzleloader to keep shooting. I managed to find good deals on an Investarms flinter and a Renegade percussion that I am proud to have gotten for only $45.00.