New
Find
Notify
Tools

Wisconsin Greenhorn
 Login/Join

Greenhorn
posted
Hi everyone. I am brand new to blackpowder but have the bug bad. I am the proud new owner of a Lymans great plains rifle in .54. I have to wait a little while to try it out as I had to order most of my shooting supplies. Any advice to some one wanting to get into buckskinning? I am looking for people and events in eastern Wisconsin that I can learn from and join in with.

Posts: 6 | Registered: 24 March 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Factor
posted Hide Post
Welcome Chuck! You made a good choice on your rifle and caliber, fer sartain! I have one in flintlock and she's laid me up some venison, too.

Fiddlesticks

As long as there's Limb Bacon a man'll eat! (But mebbe not his wife...)

Posts: 4816 | Location: Buffalo River Country | Registered: 23 October 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Factor
Picture of Dick
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Chuck E.:
Hi everyone... Any advice to some one wanting to get into buckskinning? I am looking for people and events in eastern Wisconsin that I can learn from and join in with.

Welcome, Chuck,
I used to live in Minnesota, so I know there are lots of folks in the upper Midwest who shoot these things.
On the Muzzleloader web page, on the left side in the Contents, you'll find a listing of some clubs. Not all, by a long shot! But start there. And if you belong to the National Muzzleloading Rifle Association, they list member clubs in their magazine. You might even find that info online at their site.
If you subscribe to Muzzleloader Magazine, watch for ads for shoots, etc.
I do know there's a good trading event (with limited shooting) west of you at Prairie du Chien. There will be lots of others, too. Try Googling for 'em.

Dick

"Est Deus in Nobis"

Posts: 2902 | Location: Helena, Montana | Registered: 10 December 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Booshway
Picture of Night Owl
posted Hide Post
Welcome Chuck,