MUZZLELOADER Magazine    The Campfire: Main Forum List  Hop To Forum Categories  The Campfire Discussion Forums  Hop To Forums  Bladed Weapons    My reworked green river Butcher.
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

My reworked green river Butcher.
 Login/Join

Greenhorn
posted
So picked up a Green River 8 inch butcher knife off Ebay.

Reprofied the blade and added a new handle.

ended up messing up the handle the first time.
So redid it again today.

Kinda going for a french style knife may still profile it some more, but kinda like the way it looks now.
Also have some leather coming to make a couple sheaths for some other knife and this one.
This is my first time doing this.

LMK what you think.

Posts: 12 | Location: Canada | Registered: 16 January 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Booshway
Picture of MountainRanger
posted Hide Post
that's some nice work there. It's practical and a good knife to start with... now it sure looks better!

Sua Sponte

Posts: 460 | Location: SW Virginia (New River Valley) | Registered: 13 August 2014Reply With QuoteReport This Post
<mtnmike>
posted
I think you are on to something there sir! Wink

Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Greenhorn
posted Hide Post
Thanks for the kind words. I hope to do more in the future. Just need some better tools. Drill press and bandsaw would be helpful.

Posts: 12 | Location: Canada | Registered: 16 January 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
<mtnmike>
posted
I know what you are saying Frowner I would love a bandsaw Roll Eyes

Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Booshway
Picture of andy*
posted Hide Post
Really nice job you did. Its always fun to reshape gear to fit your needs.
I also know all about "messing up the handle" the first time... LOL
Andy

Follow me I am the Infantry

Posts: 668 | Location: Everson, Washington | Registered: 27 June 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Free Trapper
Picture of TurkeyCreek
posted Hide Post