Find
Notify
Tools

Straight razor
 Login/Join

Greenhorn
Picture of Stophel
posted Hide Post
The way straight razor afficionados talk, you should be able to get a glass-smooth shave. I have seen claims of the closest shave possible!

I've always thought they were full of it.

Big Grin

Posts: 48 | Location: Kentucky | Registered: 02 August 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Pilgrim
Picture of Laughing Bear
posted Hide Post
I've been using the ol' straight-edge for some 15 years, and can now do the 4 S's in about 20 minutes. Others have covered most of the important points:
1.Shower first to soften and wet the whiskers.
2.Learn to sharpen and strop the razor properly.
3.Lock the door.
4.Invest in at least one styptic pencil.
5.Be calm, firm, and smooth.

I have a few more points:
1.Set the angle of the blade on the skin. (I find about 30-40degrees works best.)
2.MAKE SURE you keep that angle where the edge meets the skin. (It's easy to think you have the same angle under the chin when actually it's much lower 'cause you forgot to change your hand position when you slipped off the jaw, or wandered down your neck. Don't ask me how I know that.)
3.Stay away from Stainless Steel. It's great for preventing rust, but lousy for taking/keeping an edge.

As to the whole "older is better" thing...
I can't speak to the new, custom made razors out there. Perhaps they're worth the big bucks; I don't know. However, when my father finally gave me his father's razor, I was amazed. My grandfather must have picked this thing up in England sometime around 1886 (that's right, 1886)when he was in University, and yes, it was made in Germany.

Before that the best I had found was a Zenith Prince (not made any more) which served me for years, and is still my travel razor. (Yah, I'm not risking my granddad's razor.)

And that's all I have to say about that.

Posts: 61 | Location: Edmonton, Alberta | Registered: 16 March 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Factor
posted Hide Post