MUZZLELOADER Magazine    The Campfire: Main Forum List  Hop To Forum Categories  The Campfire Discussion Forums  Hop To Forums  Bladed Weapons    Tomahawks and tomahawk throwing ...
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Tomahawks and tomahawk throwing ...
 Login/Join

Booshway
Picture of andy*
posted
First I want to say that these are my thoughts, in no way am I telling people what to do or how it should be or that I am the final authority on anything ...

I have been shooting muzzleloaders and "rendezvousing" for about 20 years.
Not as long as I would like and not as long as many here on the forum. In that time I have seen many a tomahawk match. Also countless broken handles , chipped edges , nicks and gouges to heads and handles etc ... have been observed.
Not to forget to mention a "lost" tomahawk or two.

In this time I have amassed a large library of early American history and fur trade books.
Both of the "classic" studies and first person accounts / narratives.
I have read of many a shooting match or "shooting at a mark". Only once have I come across someone throwing a tomahawk.
And in this case it was a measure of emergency due to having an unloaded gun and having a chance "shot" at a raccoon.

My reading of narratives and seeing the "abuse" and damage caused by throwing contests has me thinking that the throwing of tomahawks was not a regular practice.

Again , I am not saying that they were never thrown or that no one should throw a tomahawk.
I enjoy a good fun match as well as anyone else.
Also I have no doubt that folks being folks, would wager almost anything or have a contest for entertainment at the fur trade rendezvous.
But I am thinking that the throwing contests we have today or the frontiersman / mountain man or Indian throwing his tomahawk at a enemy were not as common as shown by current media or at today's rendezvous.
Just putting my thought on subject out there.
Andy

This message has been edited. Last edited by: andy*,

Follow me I am the Infantry