New
Find
Notify
Tools

Trapping Camp
 Login/Join

Booshway
posted Hide Post
not me man i love being dirty and wearing dirty clothes.

Wild as the wind

Posts: 404 | Location: Hittin the road | Registered: 10 October 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Booshway
Picture of Tuscarora
posted Hide Post
30-some years ago, I worked as a buckaroo in Northern Nevada. On occasion, we got plenty dirty - mud, dust, blood, manure, calf scours, etc. However, everyone I worked with - white or Indian - got cleaned up again as soon as they could. Getting dirty and staying dirty is fine as long as you are by yourself, but it doesn't cut it if you are working as part of a crew. If you don't take care of yourself, the boss might think you won't take care of his livestock and equipment. The general rule (unspoken, but absolute) was take care of your animals first, your gear second, and yourself last. But, always take care of all three.

I wasn't there with the fur trappers, but I suspect the rules were similar, if not the same. Granted, they did not have access to the hygiene we have grown accustomed to, but I suspect they did their best to keep their clothing and their persons as neat and clean as possible.

This message has been edited. Last edited by: Tuscarora,

Tuscarora

Posts: 352 | Location: Nueva Helvetia en Alta California | Registered: 25 October 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Factor
posted Hide Post
I'm with ya, Tusky.

Grew up horseback on a cattle farm. Plus, we had our own sawmill. Never knew what it was to be clean or have all the hide on my body, or all the nails on my fingers. We weren't considered 'hurt' unless something was broken or cut off.