Find
Notify
Tools

Journaling and Trekking
 Login/Join

Greenhorn
posted
Hey Gang...

Does anyone here do any Journaling during trekking, shoits, camping, making gear and/or attending rendevous or feasts?

When you journal, do you journal in your persona as a first person diary...or just journal for historical/biographical purposes?

Just curious as to style and substance

Thanks,
GONZO

Posts: 12 | Location: Delphi, Indiana | Registered: 17 October 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Booshway
posted Hide Post
I have hunting, fishing, traveling, and work related journals, and journals of personal notes. Not a diary! Just journals that I write in whenever the mood strikes me.

I have been keeping journals since 1969. I now have many volumes of them. I keep them with my family genealogy records. I consider them priceless.

Know what you believe in. Fight for your beliefs. Never compromise away your rights.

Posts: 1296 | Location: Cherokee Land, Tenasi | Registered: 06 January 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Factor
posted Hide Post
When I have done journals of trips or events, and sometimes of hunting seasons, I use a pencil often to make notes in the field if I'm doing living history. I picked up a packet of pencils at Colonial Williamsburg years ago, and they have lasted a while. Then I transfer the notes to paper and ink with a glass pen. I confess I should work on my use of a quill, but I haven't set aside the time to do so. It's one of those skills that every literate person of the 18th century would have had. I do occasionally use the glass pen to write letters to other living history folks.
In any case I write as though it's a journal/diary/log

LD

It's not what you know, it's what you can prove

Posts: 3843 | Location: People's Republic of Maryland | Registered: 10 November 2004Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Hivernant
posted Hide Post
Excuse my Ignorance, but what is a glass pen?