New
Find
Notify
Tools

Hodgdon Triple7
 Login/Join

Greenhorn
posted
I have a container of Triple7 that I've had for a long time. I don't even remember how or where I got it from. I've never used Triple7 before and would like to know a little about the stuff before I use it. I might be wrong but I think I read somewhere that Triple7 burns hotter or has a higher combustion rate than Pyrodex or Blackpowder and when working up a load to keep this in mind and use less then you would for your normal load. Is this correct? I really know absolutely nothing about Triple7. I would like to learn a little more about the stuff before I use it. I usually use Pyrodex RS in my muzzleloaders and always have pretty good results. I would use real Blackpowder except it is next to impossible to find here where I live. As far as Triple7 can anyone give me some advice, thoughts, or information on the stuff plus what are the pros and cons on using it? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Respectfully, cowboys1062.

Posts: 13 | Registered: 12 March 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Booshway
Picture of SCLoyalist
posted Hide Post
Never used the stuff, but never heard anything bad about it. Cleanup is supposed to be easy, and Triple 7 isn't considered as potentially corrosive as
pyrodex.

Take a look at http://www.hodgdon.com/loading.html for Hodgdon's advice on loading.

Here's a health to the King and a lasting Peace. May Faction end and Wealth increase....Old Loyalist Ballad

Posts: 767 | Location: Panhandle Florida | Registered: 02 February 2008Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Greenhorn
posted Hide Post