MUZZLELOADER Magazine    The Campfire: Main Forum List  Hop To Forum Categories  The Campfire Discussion Forums  Hop To Forums  Firearms    barrel choices for a leman kit
Page 1 2 
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

barrel choices for a leman kit
 Login/Join

Greenhorn
posted
hello the fire. I have been talking to TVM about a leman kit. not sure what barrel to go with ,was thinking 50 cal. 36" long 1" across the flats. does any one have this combo? dont want it to heavy would 15/16 be better ? I mostly shoot targets off hand and bench rest, thought a little heavy would be good ? What would most of the leman trade rifles going west have had for barrel length ,width, and caliber in the early leman years? i would like to keep it period correct as possible.

Posts: 9 | Registered: 21 August 2011Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Booshway
posted Hide Post
This may help a bit. I'm no expert on these things. I was under the impresion that the Lemans started out w/ longer barrles of smaller cal. As time went on and the westward expansion was more on the move (later fur trade) the barrles got a bit shorter and the cal. got bigger. Others will be able to give better info I'm sure. Let us know what you decide. Best regards. Rockerhound

http://www.prospector-utah.com/leman.htm

Posts: 1128 | Location: Iowa | Registered: 15 December 2007Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Factor
Picture of Hanshi
posted Hide Post
I have little historical knowledge about the Lemans but can offer advice on the barrel. A .50 x 7/8" barrel is heavy enough for that caliber without being muzzleheavy. IMHO 36" is ideal for such a barrel. It won't be muzzle heavy and will handle wonderfully. As one of the kit choices I'm trying to decide on, I'm really liking the idea of a .54x15/16"x36" Leman. For a .50 I'd want a 7/8" barrel.

*Young guys should hang out with old guys; old guys know stuff.*

Posts: 3559 | Location: Maine (by way of Georgia then Va.) | Registered: 26 January 2009Reply With QuoteReport This Post