Find
Notify
Tools

First front stuffer
 Login/Join

Greenhorn
Picture of Walking Bear 1954
posted
Hello all I am new to non inline muzzleloaders and like advice on buying (new / used) or building a kit. I have firearms experience in firearms not front stuffers.

Democracy is two wolves and a sheep voting on what’s for dinner. Liberty is a well-armed sheep that can contest the vote. -Benjamin Franklin

Posts: 33 | Location: Indiana | Registered: 14 December 2016Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Factor
posted Hide Post
Well tell us about yourself.

Do you simply want to punch paper?
How about hunting, and if Yes..., what would you like to harvest?
For example if you simply want to do birds, or just small game that's different than just exclusively hunting deer/antelope. If you want to "do it all" that's different too.
How about history? Do you have an interest in a certain time period, so you would like a reproduction rifle or gun from that era?
Along the same lines do you think you might want to participate in living history events, or how about a rendezvous?
Some folks like the Revolution, some like the Fur Trade, some like the Pirate Era, heck some simply love Spagetti Westerns and want a revolver like Clint Eastwood might have used. (Although CW stuff is beyond the purview of this forum, we'd help you get hooked-up with folks from later eras if that was your cup-o'-tea Wink )
Budget? Is there a price range, as that can effect what you get as well...heck it effects everything else in life, right?
OH..., almost forgot..., any physical issue that might effect your choice? For example you might not want a longer barrel on a shoulder fired rifle or gun, or want something all around "light weight". I correspond with a fellow on the internet who lost an arm, so he's now into pistols, etc. Maybe you have a shoulder that doesn't appreciate heavy recoil, as my dad has?

So..., WELCOME... Big Grin and fill us in a bit so we can help you more.

LD