New
Find
Notify
Tools

Scour use
 Login/Join

Greenhorn
posted
So, I have a question. When do you use a scour and why? I have been shooting some of my rifles for 30+ years and have never used one. Is it like chicken soup and can't hurt? Or is there a specific scenario when it is necessary? And are all breech faces flat? I have never installed nor pulled a breech plug out of any of my rifles. I shoot mostly flint but just picked up a used Great Plains Rifle.

Posts: 9 | Location: Lake Tahoe | Registered: 14 June 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Booshway
Picture of roundball
posted Hide Post
I haven't...never heard of it...what's a "scour" ?

Flintlock Rifles & Smoothbores
Hunt Like The Settlers

Posts: 1867 | Location: North Carolina | Registered: 28 January 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Greenhorn
posted Hide Post
It's a tool that attatches to the end of a ramrod. Has like a large flat screwdriver type blade which after sendind down the barrel,you spin the ramrod supposedely scouring any build up of black powder residue. I think thats how its supposed to work.

Posts: 9 | Location: Lake Tahoe | Registered: 14 June 2012Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Booshway
Picture of SCLoyalist
posted Hide Post