MUZZLELOADER Magazine    The Campfire: Main Forum List  Hop To Forum Categories  The Campfire Discussion Forums  Hop To Forums  History    Use of Cedar in the 18th Century.
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Use of Cedar in the 18th Century.
 Login/Join

Hivernant
posted
I have been enjoying the 18th Century for about 16 years now and I can't recall seeing anything made from Cedar. Is it just me or is there a reason. Thanks for the help. Mike

Posts: 106 | Location: Eastern West Virginia | Registered: 04 November 2006Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Booshway
posted Hide Post
There are different kinds of cedar.

The first useful cedar that I am aware of was the Bermuda Cedar, native to the island of Bermuda. The inhabitants of that island made use of the Bermuda Cedar to build a unique kind of sailing vessel that was known as the Bermuda Sloop. These fast vessels were in great demand by the British navy for use as couriers and patrol boats. Merchants liked them because of their speed in getting cargo from point A to point B quickly. Pirates also preferred them because of their speed and ability to carry some cannon.
The ship building industry on Bermuda florished through the 18th century, until the island was finally mostly denuded of its cedar trees.

Atlantic White Cedar grows in swamps and marshland all over most of the eastern coastal plain of North America. I think of it mostly as the preferred wood for carving waterfowl decoys, and that is in fact a traditional use for it. However, it has also been used in boat building as well for clapboard siding and shingles for buildings.

The Eastern Red Cedar generally grows on poor, drier ground throughout much of the eastern half of the North America. Although the foliage of Altantic White Cedar is relatively soft, that of Eastern Red Cedar is very prickley. Red Cedar is the wood often used to make "cedar chests", and closet linings. It is said that the oils and aroma of it repels insects.