New
Find
Notify
Tools

Wounded knee
 Login/Join

Graybeard
posted
Just watched a document on Dennis Banks n 1973 occupation of Wounded Knee. I graduated High school in 72 and try to remember what was taught about Natives while in school. Practicly zip except Pocahontas n Custer. It's sad how little the general public knows of Natives and even less of what our government did to them. Even today people expect Indians to be dressed in skins n feathers and that is truly sad

Posts: 229 | Location: Southeast Pa. | Registered: 03 February 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Greenhorn
posted Hide Post
What our government did to the indigenous people of this continent should have had a few hangings and not the 38 Native Americans that were hung in Mankato, MN. for their part in the 1862 Uprising,

Crimes against humanity that should have had military leaders and civilian leaders alike on the scaffolding. One would think Presidents had to sign off on those actions, maybe they could be first.

Posts: 32 | Location: Southern Minnesota | Registered: 24 May 2015Reply With QuoteReport This Post
Factor
posted Hide Post
Sure, and while we are at it, we should go back and execute General Henry Bouquet for his advocacy of germ warfare. Then Vlad the Impaler, followed by the Ottomans, the Moors, The Huns and The Mongols for their brutalities. Perhaps ending with the Romans. Of course ignoring Lenin, Stalin, Mao, Pol Pot.

OR, we can recognize that we have evolved a sense of overall right and wrong (which the left will tell you is situational), when it comes to warfare, which BTW didn't exits until AFTER WWII because The Allies Won (had they been defeated, there would not have been Nuremberg), and go from there, because we cannot change history, nor can we make reparations to the dead.

All we can do is our best to prevent ourselves from doing it in the future, and to oppose those who are doing it now.