muzzleloadermag.infopop.cc
washington Irving

This topic can be found at:
https://muzzleloadermag.infopop.cc/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/11610091/m/1664025148

11 August 2017, 03:29 PM
volatpluvia
washington Irving
I am reading ASTORIA by this author. I found it by accident at Amazon. In his introduction he indicates that he met John Jacob Astor, who complained that the public did not know and understand about his enterprises. He then asked Irving to chronicle the fur trade business and write about it. He gave Irving a huge volume of records kept by individuals from top to bottom of the organization(s). He engaged his nephew to sort and compile related information. I am just getting started reading.

pistuo deo lalo
11 August 2017, 05:55 PM
Boartooth
Sounds cool....gonna have to look it up....

Beer is proof that God loves us,and wants us to be happy-B. Franklin
12 August 2017, 12:12 PM
andy*
Irving also wrote:
A Tour on the Prairies
And
The Adventures of Captain Bonneville.
Both are also well worth searching out to read.

All Three A Tour ... Astoria ...The Adventures..
Can be found together in the Library of America edition of Three Western Narratives.
Happy reading!
Andy

Follow me I am the Infantry
13 August 2017, 11:31 AM
Notchy Bob
Thanks for posting, Volatpluvia. I have not read Astoria, or Captain Bonneville, although I have seen them referenced many times, and Bernard DeVoto mentioned both many times in Across the Wide Missouri. You guys may have inspired me to read them!